Follow

Scheduling and Performing Backups

WholesaleBackup clients use a scheduling service to kickoff automated backups.  Like all WholesaleBackup executables, the scheduling service executable is branded, and in its case, its name ends in a _scheduler.exe and it will be shown in the Microsoft Windows Services Control Panel (Services.msc) with your brand name.



In Microsoft Windows, all applications (including services) run as a particular Windows user.  The Window's user your scheduling service runs as must have read/write privileges to all the data you wish to backup.  By default, if you did not specify any mapped drives or network shares when you installed the client, the scheduling service will run as the "Local System" account.  In the example above, the scheduling service is running as the user "Shawn Javid" so that it has access to all of that user's local files as well as network shares.  The two buttons, "Reinstall Service" and "Change User" can be used to change the user the scheduling service runs as.  All backups must run as a user with Administrator, Backup, and run as a Service privileges.

 To learn more about the required rights of a Windows user and the scheduling service, please read this article.

Backup Modes

Continuous Backup

The screen capture above shows how the client can launch backups in a continuous loop, with delays between invocations. 

Scheduled Backup

You can also set the backups to start running at a scheduled time, such as after business hours or during during off-peak hours.

Throttling Bandwidth 

In addition it shows how one can automatically pause or bandwidth limit (throttle) backups during office hours, so that network / internet bandwidth can be limited to a specified speed and not interrupt or congest the network traffic during backup periods. When the next scheduled backup resumes the client will once again make use of available bandwidth without throttling in place. 


Some end users wish their computer to shutdown after a backup is run, so this option is provided for on this tab.  Similarly, a user may wish to postpone all backups until a specific date, thus this option is provided for here as well.

Lastly, one can manually kick off a backup at any time by clicking on the "Perform Differential Backup Now" button.
 A manual backup will run as the user you are logged in as, which is not necessarily the user the service is running as.


Was this article helpful?
0 out of 0 found this helpful
Have more questions? Submit a request

Comments

Powered by Zendesk